Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2016, 06:33 AM   #1
Lvsranch

Pads and fluid

Hello, I am new to this forum and Boxster ownership so let me start by saying I did a search and didn't find anything quite as specific as what I was hoping some of you can help me with. I bought a 2000 Boxster with the intent of mostly track days but some street driving also. It has 40,000 miles so I am assuming it has original equipment. I took it straight from the dealership to a track day this weekend and proceeded to lose brakes quite quickly. I am an experienced track car driver with an SCCA race car also, so I want the car to handle some spirited driving. I also do not want to do a lot of mods, just the neccessary stuff for the use as I stated above, I am thinking, first off, brakes and tires from my experience yesterday. So my question - Can you help me with a suggestion for brake pads, high temp fluid and tires? Thanks in advance and I really am looking forward to enjoying my new Boxster purchase.

lvsranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 01:46 PM   #2

I like ebc yellow stuff pads good initial bite even cold and good low cost track pad (about $115) an axle for my 2001 S (Lots of dust but no squealing)
johnsjmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 02:08 PM   #3

I've got a 2000 Boxster S and I am FL too and do tracks days at Sebring, Roebling, Road Atlanta, and The FIRM. I'm using EBC Redstuff and ATE type 200, and GT3 front brake cooling ducts, and my brakes have been holding good. They may get a little soft at the end of a 30 minute session at Sebring, but they've never gone away. But then also I am not the fastest driver. They have never faded at Roebling or Road Atlanta.