Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2013, 09:28 AM   #1

looking to own a boxster S

new guy just wanted to know a few things from those who owned any boxster like

1) do i have to use premium unleaded or can i get away with it if i commute to school and back

2) is maintenance expensive, only thing i know that's expensive would be brakes and suspension

3) I'm an aggressive driver and coming from a mustang (v6) that never gave me a problem thrashing on it, can i do the same to the boxster. pretty much does it like being driven.

4) lastly does it matter what year boxster i get if i just want a daily driver that can also be a track car or should i save for a newer used boxster.

mustang2porsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:36 AM   #2

Ooof, so many things to address. The fact that you even ask question 1 makes me question whether or not you're ready to be owning a Porsche.
Which leads directly into question 2- unless you are a DIY kind of guy, you're going to be paying a lot. Parts are hard to come by and are downright murder sometimes.

As for question 3, you say "aggressive driver" coming from a mustang. Does that mean you like to drop the clutch a lot and do burnouts? If so, the Boxster is not the car for you. It is as 180 from an American muscle car as you can get. These badboys were made for corners, and you'll be disappointed if straight speed is what you want.

As for what year, I would suggest getting something with a dual row to avoid IMS issues.

Happy huntin'!
Crono0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:40 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crono0001 View Post
Ooof, so many things to address. The fact that you even ask question 1 makes me question whether or not you're ready to be owning a Porsche.