View Single Post
Old 08-20-2013, 11:55 AM   #15
Coffinhunter

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang2porsche View Post
new guy just wanted to know a few things from those who owned any boxster like

1) do i have to use premium unleaded or can i get away with it if i commute to school and back

2) is maintenance expensive, only thing i know that's expensive would be brakes and suspension

3) I'm an aggressive driver and coming from a mustang (v6) that never gave me a problem thrashing on it, can i do the same to the boxster. pretty much does it like being driven.

4) lastly does it matter what year boxster i get if i just want a daily driver that can also be a track car or should i save for a newer used boxster.
I have owned many mustangs in the past, 1968 GT (302), 1990 GT convert, 1995 GT convert, 1999 V6 convert... So I can speak to the comparisons pretty well.

With that being said, there is no comparison. They are totally different cars. While the acceleration is great in the Porsche, it is not designed for 0-60 leave rubber at the red light kind of driving. However, you will find that it is quicker than your V6 mustang. Where you will REALLY feel it is in the handling. I never really understood the saying "handles like it is on rails" until I drove this car. The brakes are also considerably better.

As for your questions....
1) You don't HAVE to run premium, but there is no reason not to. If you don't think you can afford it, then you can't afford the car period. You are looking at maybe $5 more per fill up from empty to run premium. Better detonation, better performance. I go so far as to only run tier-1 gas.