Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2013, 05:48 PM   #1

How many drive to DE days on DOT race rubber?

I'm curious if this is a common practice for those of us that don't currently have a trailer.
Thanks,
Mike

Mcarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:51 PM   #2
Track rat

Garage
I have been driving to the track on Dot R compounds for 5 years. NT-01 or RA1 can be driven to and from the track so no trailer needed. If I were only running DEs and not competing in Time Trials, I would probably stick with Hankook RS3 tires. The lap time difference is not that much and they are better all around street/track tires.

I do have a few friends who always trailer their car and roll out a fresh set of R6 Hoosiers for every DE day. $1600 in tires poof gone! More money than brains I guess.
Old 05-02-2013, 03:18 AM   #3

That's kind of funny, a DE isn't even a competitive event. I don't even have new tires for most SCCA regionals.
stephen wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 06:46 AM   #4

i drive to & from the track on NT-01's. no real issue unless it's pouring out. i have friends that attach a trailer hitch to the boxster. the trick setup is one of these harbor freight trailers modified to hold a set of tires & some tools.

Heavy Duty Utility Trailer - 870 Lb. Capacity

for a few hundred bucks, you can have a pretty nice solution.

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t...1/KMTGPR-1.jpg
insite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #5
Certified Boxster Addict