Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2016, 07:11 PM   #1

When to replace the brake pads??

Hi.

I noticed my front pads appear to be about 1/8" thick (maybe a bit more) and the rears look to be about 3/8" thick (also maybe a bit more).

I'm thinking that the front should be done soon, but how thin it thin enough?

Also, I have never done a break pad job on any car before, but doing it on my 1997 Boxster seems like a fun, rewarding and major cost saving project. I've watched some videos and it really seems simple to do.

So, thoughts on how thin I can wear those pads down? and thoughts/guidance on doing it myself.

Any help will be great!! Thank you all.

Adam

BoomerRoadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2016, 07:40 PM   #2
Certified Boxster Addict

The easiest way to know when to replace the pads is when the brake pad warning light illuminates on the dash. Each brake pad has a "sensor" that consists of an electrical loop of wire that is inserted into the brake pad and when the pad wears down far enough the loop is broken (which breaks the circuit) and the light on the dash turns on.

Alternatively, you can manually inspect the pads and replace them just before they wear down to the pad sensor hole that is molded into the edge of the brake pad. This will also save the cost of a new brake pad sensor.

Also, be sure to measure the thickness of the rotors to be sure that they are still within allowable thickness.

Brake pads are a fairly straight forward DIY and there is a lot of experience and help available here on the Forum.

Here you can see the pad sensor holes on the edge of this new set of pads...

Here is a completely worn set of pads - don't wait this long!

1997 Spec Boxster BSR #254
1979 911 SC
POC Licensed DE/TT Instructor

Last edited by thstone; 12-01-2016 at 07:53 PM.