Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2014, 08:07 AM   #1

Shaking steering wheel at high speed

I just bought a 2004 Boxster. It drives extremely well and overall I'm very happy with it. Two things I've noticed:
1) Driving with the top down and exceeding speed of approx 70 miles, the steering wheels starts to shake considerably. Is this just a basic alignment/balancing thing or is it mechanically caused?
2) When I signal either left or right, the blinker stops after 1-2 times and doesn't signal anymore. Furthermore, when trying to turn on the headlights, I need to turn it on/off a couple of times to actually turn on the light.

Any advice / help out there?

Thanks

amrenane2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:22 AM   #2

Garage
1) Sounds like the same issue I was having. I'm not a suspension expert, so I'm replacing the inner and outer tie rods and hoping that gets rid of the shake. If it doesn't, then I'm looking at the control arms / ball joints. Sounds like you are having the same issue. I'm sure someone else on here can point you in the right direction as to whether it is the tie rods or the ball joints.

2)I'm clueless. I have my own electrical gremlins, but they aren't that bad yet. I'll be replacing the ignition switch once they start to get out of hand as I've heard that is the cause of several different electrical problems.
CoBeerToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:30 AM   #3
Rennzenn

Garage
1) try getting the front tires balanced. If at all possible, find a shop with a RoadForce balancer. I've had this happen a few times, particularly w/ my autocross tires, and re-balancing always cures it.

2) Your headlight switch is going bad. When you turn the lights on, pull the switch out (turns on fogs) and then tap it in forcefully with the heel of your hand.