Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 09:16 AM   #1

Worth my time? 98' 986

So I have been the onlooker for years now as members of my close family and friends enjoy Porsche track days in their cars ranging from a 2012 911 turbo, 2011 GT3, 2013 Boxster S, and so on. As much fun as it is to watch and ride, it has been long enough. Now, I am just a humble teacher looking for my first humble Porsche that will last me through grad school and can take a little track day abuse a couple times a year, as well as being a touring car for the gorgeous windy Kentucky back roads.

But enough rambling, here it is. I am looking at a 1998 Boxster with 110k (mileage is what is scaring me the most), but I can buy this car pretty much out right. I have not asked to see maintenance records, nor have I asked about the common MAF and ignition switches, clutch replacement history, or IMS bearings, mostly because I would like to hear from some of you before I waste my time with this guy. Ascetically the car is freakishly clean for a 15 year old vehicle.

Moral of this story... 1998 Boxster with 110k miles, take it or leave it as a touring/periodic track day car? Mainly, is it worth my time getting this information, or is this never a good idea with this old of a 986?

TeacherRCN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:41 AM   #2
Certified Boxster Addict

Perfect car for touring and occasional track day use! My 1999 Boxster was the perfect track day car with 126,000 miles when it was rear-ended and totalled.

While there are no guarentees, if the IMS bearing made it to 110K miles, it will probably make it to 120K or 150K. More likely is the standard list of problems - AOS, water pump, brakes, ignition switch, and eventually shocks, etc.