Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 04:56 AM   #1

Need advice

Hello. I am new to the world of Porsches but am looking to procure my first Boxster. I have been reading much about it but have to admit that I am getting a bit leery about it. With all the things I read on the forums I am starting to wonder if the Boxster - or any Porsche for that matter - is going to be reliable. I'll be the first to admit that it drives like a dream but am I going to need to be rushing this thing to a dealer (the closes one is about 1.5 hours from my house) once a month?

I have been looking online at a Porsche Certified pre-owned 2004 S manual transmission with 13,200 miles on it. The dealer is asking $40K for the sweetie but I noticed in the service record that it already had the left valve cover gasket seal replaced at 2976 mile mark. Is this a sign of more problems to come or is this "normal"? The car is located 8 hours away from where I live so I would like to weed out any problems on paper first.

I am only looking a Porsche Certified because I need the extra piece of mind of having a possible RMS (or any other seal) problem be covered by the warranty. Any advice you guys could give would be very much appreciated. Sorry for asking so many questions!

R/
Kennedi

kennedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:21 AM   #2

Remember that most people post problems on a forum like this looking for help.

Your not going to post everyday that you car is running fine.

I don't think the gasket is an omen of more bad luck.

I think as long as its CPO'ed you should be fine. But I do think you should do better than 40K...
Old 04-01-2008, 06:16 AM   #3

It is very fair to say that the Boxster is no Honda or Toyota. By that standard, these cars are fragile and require repairs at a rate much higher that the Japanese standard.