Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2018, 05:57 PM   #1

Opinions welcome (little 986 conent)

I value the opinions of this board....
Wait, I value the collective wisdom of this board....there, that's better.

For no good reason, I've slowly come to appreciate and consider the purchase of a 996. I can't justify it but of course that has nothing to do with my thought process.

Background:
I've owned 2 seat roadster since high school, mostly fiat spiders and x1/9. Throw in a couple of alfa Spiders (one of which I still own). I graduated to a few NA Miatas and then owned a Z3, Z3M (twice) and a Z4 3L. I was not a Porsche guy, not even when the Boxster came out. Problem began the first time I drove a Boxster S. I believe it was around 2006 or 2007 and I drove an '03S offered on a local lot. It only took a block or two before I realized I wanted one. By 2008, I was the proud owner of a 2000S that I still own. The car is great, and even at 134,500 miles, runs amazing and never fails to make me smile. My car has had some of the common issues yet none of the horror stories we read online. Heck, I haven't even had to replace my AOS yet. I have not done the IMS as my clutch has shown no signs of needing attention. I know its a gamble but this car owes me nothing.

Lately:
Like others, I've found my eye wandering toward the 996 and 997 cars. I'm aware of the differences and $ be damned, I'd buy a 997. Did I mention I still have two in college?