Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2016, 05:23 PM   #1

Exclamation new to the 986 club need some anwers please

Hey I wanted to get some insight on a few things. I'm going to get my oil changed (1st time since owning it). The last oil change looks like a couple months ago, the coolant was changed about a year or so ago from what paperwork says. when should I get the coolant drained and have the old coolant drained & new coolant put in. Any suggestions.
what oil is good to use?? I know you use extended life coolant, but which one, I saw so many out there. I do live in New York if that makes a difference.

yellow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 04:57 PM   #2
CEL P0306

Garage
Welcome. I'm not an expert like many of the folks on the forum but can offer this: the shop I take my '98 for service uses Amsoil. Haven't had to change the coolant yet. Others can help with suggestions for that.

Use the search feature and you'll find a great deal of opinion, fact, spirited debate and otherwise regarding engine oil.
aczyzewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 05:15 PM   #3

OMG no! No oil questions please! Use the search function and you will quickly realize there is no right answer for which oil to use. None.
Old 07-21-2016, 05:28 PM   #4

Hello and welcome.

If the coolant was changed last yr, there's no need to change it soon. If it's pink, the previous owner used Porsche coolant, which has a "lifetime" shelf life. Unfortunately, the water pump only lasts 4-6 yrs and you'll have to change coolant when the water pump gives up the ghost. Be sure it's good for those cold NY winter nights and you should be fine for several yrs.

If you don't know what brand it is and it's low, add distilled water to bring it up to the proper level. Then check how strong it is with an antifreeze tester.