Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2010, 06:02 AM   #1

Actron scanners

I am looking at a couple scanners, both made by Actron, that have fairly similar capabilities. One, however, "Displays modes 1-9 of global OBD II data". I'm new at this...what does that mean, and how important is it??

Also regarding the Actron models in general, what's the difference between the CP 91xx series and the CP 95xx? Are the 95xx just newer versions?

I've heard people tout the CP 9125 as a simple code reader from which one can then get online and find the additional info about the code (and the means of fixing the problem). This would be a tempting way to go, but from the descriptions I've read, it does not display "manufacturer specific code definitions." Is that not important? Are these what they call "enhanced codes"?

Thanks for any input.

Frodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:20 AM   #2

I have the 9125 and all i neeed to get from it is the code, so that's why i purchased that one. All the information you need can be pulled off the net with the codes pulled.
dallison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 10:22 AM   #3

Yes...........................

Mode 1: Monitor Status and Current Data

Mode 1 is where you will find the status of the onboard monitors. Each monitor is associated with a system or component on the car that can impact the emissions it produces. Monitors are classified as either continuous or non-continuous. The continuous monitors are the Comprehensive Component monitor, the Misfire monitor and the Fuel monitor. All the others are non-continuous.