Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2015, 04:54 PM   #1

986 Autocrossing Racing Strategies

Good Evening.

My name is Alex and I have been autocrossing since 2003. I recently purchased my first Porsche, a 2002 Boxster 5 speed. I wanted to open this thread to see how many of us enjoy autocrossing. In the near future I would like to set up a youtube channel for autocrossing tips and webinar to discuss skills training and modifications.

For now, you can introduce yourself and list your mods, post a video or the like.

2002 Porsche Boxster (NON-S)
Mods:
Cayman 17 Wheels
Front 5mm Spacers
Bridgestone Potenza 71R's 215/45 front, 245/40 rear
PC680 Lightweight Battery

I placed 13th out of 73 at a PCA event in Daytona Speedway. Video Below:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_h21n3dgo8

GatorLapis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 05:10 PM   #2

Sweet! I ran with them last October - it was essentially the same course but without the slalom at the end. I *think* I was the fastest Boxster but overall I was middle of the pack.

Where at in FL are you? I am in Lake City, where I-10 and I-75 cross.

What PCA region are you? Florida Citrus runs a lot of autocross. I am in Florida Crown and they don't run many (any).

Steve
steved0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 05:53 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by steved0x View Post
Sweet! I ran with them last October - it was essentially the same course but without the slalom at the end. I *think* I was the fastest Boxster but overall I was middle of the pack.

Where at in FL are you? I am in Lake City, where I-10 and I-75 cross.

What PCA region are you? Florida Citrus runs a lot of autocross. I am in Florida Crown and they don't run many (any).

Steve
I am a member of the Space Coast Region. We have an event coming up in Palm Bay, FL November 21st.