Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2015, 06:58 PM   #1

Thread locker equivalent

As I unbolted my axle from the transmission this week I noticed the same Blue/Green or Cyan colored thread locker Porsche uses on bolts throughout the car...does anyone know the Locktite equivalent ?

I noticed the factory specs for those bolts is 60 ft pounds....it sure took a lot more than that to get them out....but I sure do not want them backing out on me

Pdwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 02:45 AM   #2

I am far from an expert but I would use Loctite 242 which is blue in color and semi-permanent meaning it is designed to be removed.
2002 Boxster S Arctic Silver with black top with glass window and black leather interior. Jake Raby 3.6 SS ( the beast ) with IMS Solution. 996 GT3 front bumper , GT3 rocker covers and GT3TEK rear diffuser and Joe Toth composites rear ducktail spoiler .
rfuerst911sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 05:36 AM   #3

Garage
+1 on the 242 Blue
* 3.6L LN block, 06 heads, Carrillo H rods, IDP with 987 intake, Oil mods, LN IMS. * Spec II Clutch, 3.2L S Spec P-P FW. * D2 shocks, GT3 arms & and links, Spacers front and rear * Weight reduced, No carpet, AC deleted, Remote PS pump, PS pump deleted. Recaro Pole position seats, Brey crouse ext. 5 point harness, NHP sport exhaust
jsceash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 05:45 AM   #4

Garage
Some what easier to use is Permatex 09978 a gel stays where you put it no drips.
* 3.6L LN block, 06 heads, Carrillo H rods, IDP with 987 intake, Oil mods, LN IMS. * Spec II Clutch, 3.2L S Spec P-P FW. * D2 shocks, GT3 arms & and links, Spacers front and rear * Weight reduced, No carpet, AC deleted, Remote PS pump, PS pump deleted. Recaro Pole position seats, Brey crouse ext. 5 point harness, NHP sport exhaust