Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2014, 08:37 PM   #1

Thinking of buying a Boxster

I know it's been beaten to death around here, but to be honest all the failure talk has me worried.

It's a 97 2.5 with 35k miles. I know it's a needle in a haystack kind of failure, but how worried should I be?

This will be my first p-car. I'm seriously giddy at the thought of owning one.

So, as a newb, I beg you to talk me into buying this sweet little car.

.Jack. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 08:40 PM   #2

Buy it. Nothing is going to happen to that car, you will love it!

After driving my 2000 S model for 7 months, It has brought me nothing but joy and I don't even think about silly IMSB issues anymore.

Change the oil regularly and drive it in the higher rpm range. just like the doctor ordered.
Old 03-19-2014, 10:48 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by RawleyD View Post

After driving my 2000 S model for 7 months, It has brought me nothing but joy and I don't even think about silly IMSB issues anymore.

Change the oil regularly and drive it in the higher rpm range. just like the doctor ordered.
What he said.

Love my S. Relatively cheap to buy and like the one your are looking it has low mile. I've driven it 7,000 miles and it's been great. I will enjoy it more then the previous owner and he paid over $40k in depreciation.
89 944 S2
78 911SC
Porsche9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 01:13 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by RawleyD View Post
How can you possibly say that nothing is going to happen to the car when .Jack has given us no meaningful information regardig servicing, condition, history etc, etc.
We all hope new owners have a trouble free experiences but sweeping statements like that isn't helpfull to newbies.....