Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 05:22 PM   #1
DIY extremist

Oh by the way.... my clutch was murdered after all.

As I posted a few weeks ago, my clutch seemed really bad after picking it back up after some minor paintwork at a body shop over in brooklyn with a good reputation link here. I didn't remember it feeling so hard but wrote it off to getting too used to my daily driver Mini Cooper. I started to suspect something after my mechanical guru told me he thought my pressure plate felt fried after driving it.

Today, we removed the clutch to replace and do the IMS. It was completely burnt, but there was plenty of friction material remaining on the flywheel side. There was shiny on the outer circumference but burnt brown inside (photos tomorrow if you want). I am a hard driver, but not a clutch killer. My dude told me he thought someone had tried doing burnouts.

I have a good relationship with the paint shop owner and have had him touch up some other cars for me and I really don't like confrontation but this irks me and I suppose all I can do is vent about it here....

black_box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:38 PM   #2

Garage
Good grief! Now is the time to paint their walls with their blood. :troll: Clutches sure as heck aren't cheap, and that's without the labor. Looking on the bright side, at least they did not crash your car and what not.
Kenny Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:56 PM   #3

That's one of those things that is going to be VERY hard to prove and get the paint shop to agree to cover. Good relationship and all. The best advice is to just "forget about it" and keep a good painter. But I would at least mention it to the owner to let him know you know.
Old 06-26-2012, 02:23 AM   #4
Ex Esso kid