Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 04:59 AM   #1

Replacing 2.7 with a 3.2

Hello all.

I am new to the 986 forum.
My brother in law and I purchased a 2003 boxster with a blown engine. A small piece of ferrous metal got into the bank 1 oil scavenge pump, caused the shaft to shatter and those pieces got into the timing chain causing the gain to jump, the exhaust valves to bend and the valve cover to blow open. I have torn down the engine partially. The oil had no contaminants in it. The cylinders have no scoring. The IMS bearing looks and feels like new. The engine looks well maintained. I have found the bullet, but no smoking gun.

I bought a used 3.2 engine to put in. So far, I have checked the IMS bearing and it also looks and feels new. I will be dropping the oil pan and filter next week.

I will post photos once I figure how to get them from this iPad onto the forum.

John

jdcorbitt3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 09:13 AM   #2

Garage
Welcome to the forum.

You should seriously consider installing the LN Engineering IMS bearing since you have the motor out. If you search this forum (and others) you will find many threads related to the IMS bearing issue. The LN Engineering bearing is a much better bearing than OEM. If you replace your bearing now you will have less concerns later.

300K Mile Club

Last edited by Jager; 03-03-2012 at 09:16 AM.
Jager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 11:11 AM   #3