Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2015, 03:04 AM   #1

need help with repainting tool

Hi
I need advice because I can not resolve the problem alone. I do the repainting of the bumper. I ordered a 3 phase motor for my air compressor, but it seems that it is impossible to mount it. In my garage I have 1 phase. What adaptor or connector should I buy to power the air compressor?

jackval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:47 AM   #2

I'm no electrical expert... but you're not going to be able to tap a 1 phase connection to power 3 phase equipment. You're going to have to contact your electric company and have them run the additional power to convert your location to 3 phase power.
dijinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 04:05 AM   #3

Call the manufacturer of the compressor, and see if they offer a single phase motor that can swap directly in.

The other option is a 'variable frequency drive', but converting single to three phase you need to oversize the VFD by 100%. (ex 1hp single phase motor would require a 2hp VFD) ABB ACH550 UH 04A6 2 AC HVAC Drive 4 6 Amp 3 Phase 0 500Hz | eBay

Also, you will be limited to 208v motor, so if you have a 480v 3phase motor you are out of luck.
alm001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 04:41 AM   #4

I agree with alm001.

The easiest way to exchange them motor for a single phase.

Otherwise you will need a phase converter. You can make one yourself. Do a search on the interwebs, I'm sure there are plans freely available.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vm7sgy1JR1s
emore93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 04:41 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackval View Post
Hi