Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2014, 05:15 PM   #1

Race suspension alignment

For some reason my searches seem to only bring up topics about stock suspension settings for guys wanting to run stock cars on track with a more aggressive alignment.

I am waiting to install H&R RSS coilovers and am looking for alignment specs for a track only, modified suspension car. Does anyone have that info? I'm a smooth but aggressive driver who doesn't like the rear of the car to pass the front. Looking for stability.

When I ran my 993 on track, the rule was get as much neg camber out of every corner. I'm reading here that Boxsters don't like a lot of negative camber......why?

TIA

993innc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 07:32 PM   #2
Certified Boxster Addict

Boxster's need and love negative camber just like any strut-based suspension! The stock set up maxes out at around -1deg camber in front but the car really needs much, much more.

A good starting point for a track-only setup is -3.0deg camber in front (where you go from there depends on driving technique, tire selection, tire temps, tire wear, etc.), maybe 0.5deg less camber in the rear, 1/16 toe (for stability, zero toe can feel "darty" but is generally faster), then add as much caster as you can get.

Of course, you'll need height adjustable coilovers, a set of GT-3 front adjustable lower control arms, adjustable front/rear drop links, and adjustable rear toe arms to reach this setup. Might as well throw in a set of sway bars while you're at it (GT-3 front, Tarett rear).

Have a race shop do the alignment and corner balance. You'll also need to keep an eye on air pressures to keep everything in balance.

This is a very good reference page: HELPFUL HINT: Porsche Boxster Suspension Setup - Stock, BSX, BSR - GSR Autosport Community
1997 Spec Boxster BSR #254