Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2020, 09:42 AM   #1

Buying a boxster - Walk me through the PPI process

Hi all, I am in the process of purchasing a 2003 Boxster out of state. I am new to this and want to ensure I follow the best procedure regarding the PPI. Is it common to ask a seller to bring a car for a PPI? obviously, I would pay for it ahead of time. The shop is about 8 miles from where he lives.
Also, should I have the seller state he is simply looking to sell the car locally so that the shop feels like they may get any business down the road? Any and all advice regarding this important step would be very much appreciated As would any input on purchasing a car out of state.
as would any input on purchasing a car out of state.

Thank you!

34dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:54 AM   #2

As long as the seller has no issues with a PPI to be performed you should be the one calling the shop and making the request . You tell them you are thinking about purchasing the vehicle and you want a bill of health . You want to know the good and the bad if there is any . In a perfect world it's the same shop that has performed service work in the past so they can tell you about anything replaced/repaired in the past .

The quality of the PPI is obviously an extension of the quality of the shop . If the shop doesn't know all the ins and outs of the particular chassis/engine then they may not be much help . Any shop can tell you about brakes/suspension but can they detect bore scoring ? Many can't . Good luck and report back .
2002 Boxster S Arctic Silver with black top with glass window and black leather interior. Jake Raby 3.6 SS ( the beast ) with IMS Solution. 996 GT3 front bumper , GT3 rocker covers and GT3TEK rear diffuser and Joe Toth composites rear ducktail spoiler .