Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2006, 05:21 AM   #1

Whats better Triptonic or Manual Boxster?

Im a newbie looking for a 2003/2005 used Boxster
Which are the advantages of Triptonic over manual gearbox or viceversa.

Which is faster a Manual Boxster or Triptonic?
Which is more reliable and less maintenance?
Which is more fun?

motoadve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 05:38 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by motoadve

Which is more fun?
I am sure that you will get a couple of more replies from people with a broader experience in the differences but here is my 2 cents worth:

On the street, I doubt if the manual will be that much faster. If you are buying it for the track that may be another story entirely. I think that the Tiptronics are so advanced now there would be very little difference. I just read a review in one of the British Porsche magazines that the new turbo actually ran slightly faster with the Tiptronic.

Obviously, if you go with the Tiptrnic you will never have to replace a clutch which in this car may be quite expensive labor wise.

IMHO-The manual is always more fun. Course I am pretty old school about things like that.

One other big advantage the Tip has over the manual is that if you are planning to use this as a daily driver and you live in a city where you must drive a lot in congested traffic, you may want to go with a Tip to save the wear and tear on your legs.

I really love cities like NY, Chicago and LA but I honestly don't know how people can bare to drive a stick in all that traffic every day. That would make me nuts.

'03 Midnight Blue
18" Chromes//Drilled and slotted rotors//pedal upgrade//Alum. Door sills//KSPORT Coilovers//Short Shifter/Strut braces/Clear sides/Hard Top/Speedster humps/Intake//Leather GT3 seats/REVO chip with SPS2
'04 CLK55 AMG 367HP!