Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2018, 01:31 PM   #1
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
Defroster Switch Wiring

I installed a switch to manually trigger my high and low radiator fans last year, but I would now like to finish the job by dash mounting the switch. I am planning to buy a two button 996 batwing, and I would like to use a defroster switch (996-613-134-00-A02). This switch normally has low, high, and off. Which I would like to use for low, high and off for the radiator fans.

The radiator switch works by grounding either the high or low set of fan relays. This thread on Rennlist indicates that the defroster switch is a Type B 2 SPST switch (not sure what that means). I am not an expert on reading electrical diagrams, but my understanding from the diagram is that if I wire the high fans and low fans to pin #3 or #5 and the ground to #4, it should function with one press triggering the low fans, another triggering the high fans, and another press shutting everything off. Is this correct?

What about pins #1 and #2? Would those be used for illumination?

Thanks in advance! -Rick

This is the switch wiring from the Bentley manual:

Attached Images

Last edited by rick3000; 05-22-2018 at 01:34 PM.
rick3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 03:11 PM   #2
Custom User Title Here

Garage
I'm not sure about the fan wiring, but be aware that all 3 switch types are momentary (power is only applied while switch is being pressed) and you may need latching relays.

BTW, SPST = single pole, single throw. When pressed on either side, either connector #1 or #2 will make contact with #4
Being a rocker switch, it could be thought of as a SPDT (single pole, double throw).

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/switch-basics/poles-and-throws-open-and-closed

Last edited by particlewave; 05-22-2018 at 03:14 PM.