Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2014, 10:53 AM   #1

986 suspension tune up for an average Joe - advice?

My '01 S has 140K miles on its stock suspension, and while there are no critically pressing repairs that need to be made (which I'm aware of), I'm assuming things are a bit tired and worn down-under. I'd like to bring the car up to date, eliminate a few minor rattles, improve driving feel and responsiveness, and not go broke in the process. Its a daily driving car that my wife needs to enjoy too, and doesn't sniff the track. I'm a fairly average driver, but I don't hesitate to open it up on the highway and I love a nice winding mountain road now and then. Heck, that's why we own these things, right? Here are the things I've settled in my mind I need to do in the next month or so: (1) 4 new tires; (2) new brakes and rotors, flush fluid; (3) new shocks/struts/hardware; and (4) proper alignment and check rims for straightness. I've also assumed that once into the project I'll discover the need to replace worn bushings and ball joints here and there. Hopefully not a lot of things. I'm a total newbie, so here are my questions:
1. Tires: I'm debating between the Michelin PS2's or Hankook Ventus V12's. Given the Hankook's are half the price of the Michelin's, can anyone advise me on tires?
2. Brakes: I was intending to order brake pads, hardware, and Zimmerman rotors from Pelican. I don't think I need everything in their super kit. Any comments?