Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2009, 05:54 AM   #1

Boxster air filter

I'm a newbie here... bought my first Porsche (98 Boxster) one week ago. Yes I'm very excited and wow, do I have a lot to learn. I've had the oil, tires, brakes, etc etc maintenanced. But Damn... where is the air filter? I'm an experienced shade tree mechanic and this car has me starting from basic 101 Thanks! Chris

texomawaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:26 AM   #2

Under the fron trunk--Nope, In the rear trunk--Nope, Under the engine cover, under the compartment, under the carpet, in the airbox on the drivers side--YUP! Two little tabs on the sides of the air box that bend out and the you slip/pull the air filter housing up and there you have it. I recommend a BMC drop in filter. Good Luck and welcome.
Ebay Headers, Fabspeed high flow cats, JIC Cross, IPD Plenum, H&R Coilovers, B&M Short Shifter, AEM Uego Gauge Type Analog, Apexi S-AFC Select, 987 air box, Litronics, 2000 Tails and side markers, painted center console, 18" 987 S-Wheels, GT3 Front bumper with splitter.
JAAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:29 AM   #3

It's in the engine compartment - there are good instructions available here on how to do the job:

http://www.dietersmotorsports.com/tech/2003/6-2003.htm

Accessing the engine is pretty easy after you have done it once or twice.

Good luck!
TMM986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 06:34 AM   #4

First Time Jitters

I also have a '98 and the first time I changed the air filter on the engine it was pretty scary actually. You have to remove the carpet over the engine, then the insulated engine cover, etc, etc.
If you are having a problem you can PM me and I'll give you a call and we can walk through it while standing by the cars.
schnellman is offline   Reply With Quote