Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 07:01 AM   #1

Garage
Question DRL Hack

This subject has probably been beat to death on the forum by the more seasoned owners, but I'm new to the Margue, so if it has please direct me to the correct reply stage to learn how.
I have a 2001 3.2 with factory original Lithtronic headlamps. I've been told you can activate the Canadian required DRL process by a certain unknown to me process. How do I accomplished this?

jrhboxsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 02:21 PM   #2
still plays with cars...

Garage
Locate the fuse box cover on the lower left side underneath the dash, remove the cover and locate fuse number A6 and A9, both fuses are located on the first top row, from left to right fuse #6 and fuse #9, if you don’t have heated seats the #6 fuse slot will be empty.

Once located, you will need to have a 3 inch long electrical wire (18 gauge wire is good) strip each end of the wire approx. ½” on each end of the wire, what you need to do is use that 3” wire to jump fuse #6 and #9 like a bridge, take one end of the wire and wrap it around one peg of the fuse and the other end on one peg of the other fuse and insert both fuses back into their respective slots #6 and #9.

If you had an empty slot, simply use a spare fuse, amperage not important, in the empty slot. Verify that the hack worked by putting the ignition key on the headlights should come on.

I removed the DRL module on my Canadian spec car and tried it. It does indeed work.
BoxsterSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 06:38 AM   #3

Garage
Thanks Steve, I'll give her a try. Question which headlight activates, the Lithtronic or the high beam and do they activate in a dimmed mode, going full bright when you actually turn on the headlights via the switch? - Thanks