Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 06:48 PM   #1

How often do you replace your rotors?

I had someone meet up with me last week about purchasing my car. They were trying to talk me down in price by saying that my car is going to need brakes and rotors soon because there is a "lip" on the outside edge of the rotors.
Naturally since the brake pads don't go all the way to the edge of the rotors then there is going to be a little wear. I honestly do not think they need to be replaced and think they were just trying to beat me up in price.

I was a mechanic for almost 6 years and still continue to wrench on my own stuff. I disagree on them needing to be replaced but its neither here nor there.

Anyways, my question is, how often do you all replace your rotors. Now mind you I don't track my car or have any issues with them such as vibrations or any noise. Pads still have life on them. I have not replaced any brakes on it since I've owned it for the past 2.5 years.

Old 02-12-2012, 07:35 PM   #2

Garage
Rotors are replaced based upon their remaining thickness, or if flaws or damage is found. Check the maximum wear limit for your car and if the rotors are getting close, I would replace them.
dbazos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:26 PM   #3

Garage
Used cars have used components on them. Nit picking brake rotors is BS. I have a lip on my rotors and I have 36K miles on mine and I'm nowhere close to changing them out...maybe turning them to clean them up but that's it. If you can, use a vernier caliper and measure the rotor (no need to remove the tire for this measurement). I'm sure you're in tolerance and you can tell that to the next buyer with the numbers to prove it.

Last edited by Jaxonalden; 02-12-2012 at 08:30 PM.
Jaxonalden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:50 PM   #4