Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2017, 03:27 PM   #1

Just getting into this

I'm very new to this sport and looking at this long term. I looking for a car and have options between a base or s model. Right now it will be learning the basics with the intent to eventually progressing to competition. Do I get the s model or base? Am
I limiting my options later on in this adventure by getting an s model?

Thanks

Medsurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 03:47 PM   #2
Super Moderator

Hello and welcome to the forum! Other members will likely chime in, but if you're able to get the S instead of the base model, I would go that route, especially if you're planning on tracking the car. I'm attaching a link to our site's DIY tech articles on the 986 platform, this will be a very useful guide if you're planning on doing the maintenance and fixes yourself down the line. Please let us know if you have any questions and best of luck on the purchase. Let us know what you decide on.

Porsche Boxster 986/987 (1997-2004) Technical Articles
Dmitry at Pelican Parts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 08:58 PM   #3

If you want to compete, and you're not in the 1%, then build (or work towards building) a spec Boxster. This uses the 986 car (1997-1999), the base 2.5 liter engine. It's by far the most popular PCA racing class. Also legal with the SCCA (class T3) and NASA. You can pick one up for a few thousand dollars. And then spend another $25k making it into a race car. Here's a spreadsheet of parts and costs.

PCA rules are here. Look at the SPB rules starting on page 24.

Fellow Spec Boxster racers hang out here and also on rennlist.

I suggest going to some PCA races in your region and meeting some fellow Spec Boxster racers. They're generally a pretty friendly group.