Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2008, 07:50 AM   #1

Anyone own a Land Rover LR3?

The wife's thinking about getting one... probably used... 05-06? They are really inexpensive right now, like all other trucks at this moment. We do need a bigger car too. She works close to home so gas is not that big of an issue when it does, and it will, go up.
I'll do my research as usually, but I like hearing it from people that I know... well, people on the forums at least. I trust them a lot more.
I have no clue about Land Rovers.

bmx672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 10:22 AM   #2

I have no direct experience, but here's what I know:

a friend of mine has a Land Rover Discovery (or whatever it's called) he loves it when it works, but well that's not too often

another buddy of mine has a Range Rover and he is planning to sue Rover for their crappy workmanship (car does all kifn of "funny" things when it rains)

Well, they are English cars, they are supposed to look good but not to work well

Maybe check Edmunds.com or so about feedback
2015 FIAT 500e "Nikki" my commuter car
ChrisZang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 09:42 AM   #3

Yep,
I too was tempted to pick up a LR3, as the prices are dropping at an alarming rate.
But knowing in the back of my mind the reason for the recent prices, I took a look at Edmund's for owner reviews and it seemed most of owners can't wait for the day to get rid of them.

For a brief time I owned a '73 Land Rover, and although it was in excellent shape and had low miles, it couldn't pass up an opportunity to let me down.

I had hopped Land Rover quality and reliability had improved in the past 35 years, but it seems they hasn't.
Aron in Toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 11:54 AM   #4