986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Noob here!!! 2001 Box....new to me...lots of questions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/75606-noob-here-2001-box-new-me-lots-questions.html)

Box7774 06-21-2019 07:37 PM

Noob here!!! 2001 Box....new to me...lots of questions

Hello all....I am a noob here on this forum yet very familiar with the forum world with my other interests.
I just purchased via ebay a 2001 Boxster with 158k on it. It was owned by a Porsche mechanic which gave me some confidence to buy it with high mileage. Many of the common issues have already been repaired or replaced. I watched many youtube vids before buying so i would know what to look for. I dont want to make this too long.....let me just take baby steps and get some help with my current issues.

1. where can I find a cheap shift knob and boot replacement? There is no shift pattern sticker on my knob and it just looks faded.
2. When I start my car....say 6 out of 10 times it will start with a loud squeal. Where should I start...how can I diagnose? Is it most likely the starter....a drive belt....alternator?
3. The battery did have a low charge when I got it......I am battling the lights and switches to figure out how they work and what they do. My pass side door light seems to come on or go off when ever it wants. Anyone else have that issue? The drivers side door light is burnt out will fix soon. The dash lights do stay on after I turn off the car unless I lock it. The key switch has been replaced. What is the purpose of the lock button on the dash?