986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners

986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners (http://986forum.com/forums/)
-   Boxster General Discussions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/)
-   -   Noob here!!! 2001 Box....new to me...lots of questions (http://986forum.com/forums/boxster-general-discussions/75606-noob-here-2001-box-new-me-lots-questions.html)

Box7774 06-23-2019 07:01 PM

Ok will do.......I am pretty sure both windows do go down when I go to lower the top....so I assumed that feature was working for when I put the top back up. I will read up and figure it out....thanks

blue62 06-23-2019 07:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Box7774 (Post 598126)
Ok will do.......I am pretty sure both windows do go down when I go to lower the top....so I assumed that feature was working for when I put the top back up. I will read up and figure it out....thanks

You mentioned in one of your first few posts that your battery only held 12.3 volts after a 3 hour drive the day before testing.
your thought was that you may have a parasitic draw.

12.3 volts is a 30% charge.
If after driving for three hours you have less then 12.5 volts or higher something is wrong.

A battery that is not charging or holding proper charge can cause all kinds of strange little electrical problems.

May I suggest you make certain the battery is charging and holding sufficient charge before looking to other electrical problems.

Starting with the simplest most basic. (main power source=battery) Then working step by step to the more complex helps reduce the chasing of ones own tail.

elgyqc 06-24-2019 02:46 AM

The window is supposed to drop just enough to fit under the lip of the top when you open the door. It drops considerably more when you operate the top. Search the forum for a solution. Does the passenger side door window function properly?

tonythetiger 06-24-2019 04:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Box7774 (Post 598126)