Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2019, 12:23 PM   #1

Garage
Hagerty says buy a Boxster

Hagerty insurance just voted the 1997-2004 Boxster as part of the bull market list for future collectibles. Top ten to buy now. They feel the depreciation has bottomed out. Nice to hear.

Blackcloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 12:38 PM   #2

I hope they're right but I've been hearing for almost 30 years that the Pontiac Fiero was going to be the collector car of the future. I'll believe it when I see it. I'm sitting on a gold mine if they do become collectable though.
Old 01-10-2019, 12:42 PM   #3

It’s BS. These are great cars but are still way too common and available in all sorts of conditions. Buy to enjoy any way you like but speculation is useless at this point.
dghii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 01:51 PM   #4

Speculation is only for top grade collectables - " normal / driven " cars may have stopped depreciating - but that's cause there are not a lot of maintained cars running now and even at " current" prices they are huge bang for buck
KT
KT986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 07:58 PM   #5

agree with all the statements above.
I'd love my $3000 project car to be worth big bucks one day, but it ain't happenin
jmitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2019, 10:28 PM   #6

Will prices go up? Sure. But not in the realm of “investment”, by any stretch. The 986 is a bit of a sleeper though. Like all of them. I kick my self for selling my ‘84 911... as more and more 986’s are left to die, the market will eventually heat up. Oddly enough they are getting some good, and interesting press lately. We will see how it goes!
Geof3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 04:05 PM   #7
Certified Boxster Addict