Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2016, 07:04 PM   #1

Exclamation Boxter re-birth, No start issue

Hello, I am new to this page.

I am the proud new owner of a 2001 boxter 2.7-
This car was left in a garage for 2 years and used as a storage shelf. I am trying to bring it back to life.

The car was dead with no battery, flat tires and an inch of dust. after cleaning it up and installing a new battery I have been able to turn the key some of the time and get all power to the car lights, dash, doors trunk ext. The issue is (YEP) no start or crank.

I did the start relay bypass and was able to get the engine to crank clean over and over. (Without) the bypass I have nothing but lights on the dash.... fuel pump was also bypassed to test and the fuel pump and that works as well.

Is this an issue with the immobilizer or computer or???

The key remote also will not open doors or function other then red light flash on remote,

Any help would be great ...

Raybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 07:35 PM   #2
Custom User Title Here

Garage
When you crank it with the start lock relay bypassed, does the tach needle move? Does the key have the transponder pill inside? Have you looked at the immobilizer under the seat and checked it's fuse and connections for signs of water or rust/corrosion?

Last edited by particlewave; 12-07-2016 at 07:38 PM.
particlewave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 07:54 PM   #3

Yes, the tach does move but just a half inch as the engine turns over..Key does have a pill like transponder within it. And the imb box under their seat looks great. No water damage or issues with wires. Fuse is a ok., thank you for the reply and help..
Old 12-07-2016, 08:03 PM   #4
Custom User Title Here

Garage