Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2016, 04:05 AM   #1

So I've got this coolant leak...

I discovered that the coolant level was down via the indicator light on the dash (Temp was still fine at 180) so I topped it up. During my next drive the light goes off again so I check for leaks and see drippage coming from the engine. I top up again and go for a drive with the heat on full blast, no leakage. I'm no mechanic so whatever it is I have to bring it to the shop. Is this something I can trust a local guy with or should I bite the bullet and bring it to the Porsche dealer?

Mauiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 04:18 AM   #2

Where you take it, I can't really say. Dealerships are super expensive...I'd find some independent you can trust.

That said, I'd recommend strongly you drive it little or not at all until you can be sure it's not your water pump going bad on you. That can be a real problem if/when it suddenly goes on you. (There are others that can give you more detailed advice than I can, no doubt.)

Do a search on "water pump." If you want to hear all the possible bad stuff, limit it to posts by Jake Raby.

Last edited by Frodo; 08-07-2016 at 04:49 AM. Reason: Just wanted to add the last line.
Frodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 08:26 AM   #3

Garage
The design of the cooling system doesn't really lend itself to easy diagnosis of small leaks. The only sure way to spot a leak is to use a pressure tester or Uview 5000 vaccum kit and it's still a pain to check every connection under the car. In the end, my problem turned out to be my waterpump giving up the ghost. The coolant tank is known to be a source of leaks as well.
Old 08-07-2016, 08:32 AM   #4

Garage