Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2016, 05:55 AM   #1

My failed attempt at powder coating

I'm not afraid to try new things, especially if I can save a buck doing it myself. I've been very successful at learning how to do things for myself and take pride in my DIY ability. It's who I am and the reason I'm able to do what I do for a living. Most things aren't that hard to do once you learn how to do them. So many people are afraid to fail and I don't get it. So you messed up. Keeping trying until you get it right! Well, I'm getting tested on that motto. I've always wanted to try powder coating ever since they came out with those at home kits. I finally bought myself one of those kits and got a oven. I got the oven for free from a friend who was remodeling her kitchen a few years back. It took me a few months to finally find some wheel to powdercoat and a friend of mine wanted to also try on his spec boxster wheels. It was a learning experience for both of us.

We started out by getting the wheels sandblasted.

We took this wheel

And hanged it in the spray box like this

This is how it came out of the oven

If you look hard you can see lots of flaws in the finish. We tried first on some scrap metal but probably should have practiced more before moving onto wheels. Getting the powder in the lug holes was very difficult. We did one wheel and called it quits. While we were defeated, we weren't done with powdercoating just yet. The conclusion we came to is that it might be best to let the professionals do larger objects. I have a set of calipers I'm going to attempt next.

Old 02-01-2016, 06:30 AM   #2
1997 Tip, 2018 Macan

Garage
Good on ya for trying. Did you pre heat the wheels before spraying?
rexcramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 08:01 AM   #3