Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2015, 05:13 AM   #1

strange noise from the dash area

hi guys,

I've been getting this strange noise from the passenger side of the dash for a couple of weeks now and have no idea what it could be.

https://youtu.be/qBs9Fs2xL5c

any ideas?

was suspecting a fan but it doesnt go away when i fully turn the AC and fan off.

2000 base boxster.

thanks,

Cristian

CrisZenithBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 05:32 AM   #2

Garage
sounds like a stepper motor/gear for the auto adjusting vent flaps...
do the vent settings still work for each position? Some can get really noisy and still work fine.
Heiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 08:41 AM   #3

Maybe? I found a cat living in an old Mustang I was restoring once, and I had been driving it for 6 months.
Attached Images

Old 04-22-2015, 08:43 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duquette5 View Post
Maybe? I found a cat living in an old Mustang I was restoring once, and I had been driving it for 6 months.
hahaha! i will put out some nuts on the carpet and see if they disappear in the morning
Old 04-22-2015, 08:46 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heiko View Post
sounds like a stepper motor/gear for the auto adjusting vent flaps...
do the vent settings still work for each position? Some can get really noisy and still work fine.

hmm... i will play around with the settings and update.

thanks guys!
Old 04-22-2015, 04:27 PM   #6

Garage
Pull out the round vent just below the passenger side dash vent. Look at the fan that is inside there. Turn the key on, and see of the fan starts and the noise comes back. If it does - you found the culprit.
BFeller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 05:39 AM   #7