Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2014, 03:09 PM   #1

Garage
GT3 seats...

Worth the $$$? Looking for a low profile seat to gain extra head/legroom. If you've had any experience with these seats I'd love to hear. I've also heard that recaro pole positions are great seats too. Planning on bolting directly to floor with custom brackets.

OklahomaBoxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2014, 06:01 PM   #2

I have factory GT3 seats in one car and an aftermarket set for another. My problem is not height, but the width of my arse. I'm 5'9", and wear a 38 inch waist and big shoulders, and I'm sure I'm 4-5 inches bigger than the seats are designed for. I'm OK with them for laps around the track or around town, but I wouldn't want to go cross country in them.

I have no experience w/ the Pole Position or some of the other race seats, but I do know they come in various widths and sizes. Additionally, I've read discussions some of the taller guys have w/ strap placement and fitting correctly on their shoulders, but that may not be a problem for you w/ factory belts.

I've read different posts from tall guys that bolting seats to the floor like you are talking about will give you the headroom you need.

Maybe Tom or another of the racer guys can give you an idea on some of the different seats and what may work for you.
Old 08-30-2014, 06:34 PM   #3

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedTele58 View Post
I have factory GT3 seats in one car and an aftermarket set for another. My problem is not height, but the width of my arse. I'm 5'9", and wear a 38 inch waist and big shoulders, and I'm sure I'm 4-5 inches bigger than the seats are designed for. I'm OK with them for laps around the track or around town, but I wouldn't want to go cross country in them.