Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2014, 05:15 AM   #1

Garage
Porsche 986 vs BMW Z3 M

Porsches suck BMWs rule

LOL! I had to get that out of the way just to get everybody's attention LOL! I stated in an earlier post that I recently sold my Porsche 986 and replaced it with a BMW Z3 M. Actually I'm a big Porsche fan and I think they are AWESOME cars. I just thought, now that I've had the chance to drive my Z3 M for 400+ miles, some of you might find it interesting to hear my opinions on the two similar cars.

First let me say I'm not a expert on the topic but I have owned my share of sports cars and back in the day I spent my share of time on the track.

To be fair to the Porsche I must state that my 986 was the 2.5 and my new Z3 M is a 3.2 (honestly not a fair comparison).

Handeling - This goes to 986 hands down. The 986 handles like its on rails. Not to say the BMW isn't awesome it's just not "stuck to the ground" like the Porsche. When driving the Z3 hard into corners, you can feel that the rear-end of the car would easily come around if pushed. I honestly never had this sensation with my 986 (horsepower could play a part in this). If a person drove a Z3 M without ever driving a 986 they would say it was on rails LOL.

Acceleration - Hands down goes to the BMW Z3 M. This is not really worth noting due to the HP difference. It would be a much better comparison if I had owned a 986 S.