Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2014, 01:14 PM   #1

Garage
how can i learn to drive

many adults that ride with me say i am a very good driver for a teenager, but that is the simple stuff, how can i learn to drive my car in a safe environment? My main issue is that the PCA has an age requirement of 18 years.

BIGJake111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 01:31 PM   #2

The SCCA and BMWCCA allow 16 years old with parents signing a minor waiver. That is what we did for my daughter to autocross, and now she regularly beats up on all the guys.

Go do SCCA or BMWCCA auto-x before you head to a track. You need the experience of pushing and losing it in as safe of an environment as you can find.

Good luck.

986S
991S
Van Diemen RF97
LAP1DOUG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 01:34 PM   #3

Garage
thank you very much
Old 02-08-2014, 05:23 PM   #4
I am my own mechanic....

My first car I drove (and later owned) was a '76 Pinto Wagon.

Easy to learn in, no chance of speeding! A man trans was all I ever drove until my wife bought the Touareg. Windshield time is what you need now. Just regular traffic, with the typical surprises. Don't swerve for cats. You'll get your chance.
Timco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:08 PM   #5

Put the cell phone down. Try doing an autocross with 1 hand on the wheel and the other by your ear.

Autoweek recently had an article about teen driving and accidents. Distracted driving is the #1 killer of teenage drivers, ahead of drunk driving. You'll have all kinds of things thrown at you in the upcoming years as you gain driving experience. It will be hard to concur them while you're multitasking. You only get 1 mistake and the game's over. There is no reset button in the game of life.