Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 10:29 AM   #41

I understand that you wrench for a living and appreciate you taking the time to help a fellow owner. If these were expensive parts requiring lots of man-hours to replace, I'd be right there with you.

I've replaced ignition switches on Boxsters because of weird symptoms (radio on/off), lighting, AC blower working sometimes but not others. Never had the ignition switch determine what the charging voltage went to my battery, nor cause otherwise working accessories to suddenly draw more current and run down a battery.

Hopefully, he'll get it sorted out.

dghii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:36 AM   #42

I suspect on of the aircon faults caused by the faulty ignition switch was causing the drain , but never really diagnosed it as the switch was known faulty so got changed out.
After this , When the car was driving again I had no fault

It had BAD problems with the key not springing back after activating the starter , and sometimes being difficult to remove ...
Ian c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:32 PM   #43

Thanks for the replies! Yes I did take beer break and friend stopped by an ended up abandoning the car to continue with the beer and a BBQ lol

Ok I'm back on the car now and am going to begin the fuse check and drain. I'll be posting updates here shortly. Thanks so much for the help!

-Leo
3point2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 01:55 PM   #44

I have the positive cable connected to the batter and the negative cable disconnected. I have my meter set at 200 milliamperes and touching the red meter cable with the negative battery cable post and the black meter cable to the disconnected ground cable. And I'm getting 0 readings. I've adjusted the scale but still no readings?? What am I doing wrong?