Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2012, 01:26 PM   #1

Is this a good deal? '00 S for $10.5k

I'm new to Boxsters but my wife has started talking about having kids so it's now or never.

I've found a 2000 S with 105k here locally. It has 19" wheels, tires are probably 40%, it has a chintzy early-2000's nav and bluetooth. It's clean, no chips or dings and everything works. It seems solid and from what I have read here, if it hasn't had issues with the IMS at this point, it probably won't, Is that correct?

I've got him down to $10.5k. Seeing as a baby is in the immediate future, this car will probably will need to go within a year or so.

Here are my concerns:
-Will it depreciate dramatically within the next 12-18 months?
-Am I in for costly repairs with a 100k+ mile Boxster?
-Will it properly fill the 2 seat roadster void in my life?

I'm pretty much sold on it. I think I'm just looking for validation.

The car in question:

kchristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:45 PM   #2

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kchristian View Post
-Will it depreciate dramatically within the next 12-18 months?
-Am I in for costly repairs with a 100k+ mile Boxster?
-Will it properly fill the 2 seat roadster void in my life?
1) If it doesn't break drastically, it'll probably maintain some of the value it has left. But then you'll probably catch the "mod" flu that tends to go around this forum, and spend as much updating it over the years ahead.

2) Possibly. There's not much cheap to fix if you don't do it yourself. Personally, I'd keep a $2K reserve for maintenance, if you don't spend that in year one, roll it over, whatever you spend, plan on replenishing each year

3) Positively

4) You didn't ask, but Yes, you do need to get a PPI before you buy it
2003S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:53 PM   #3