Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 08:51 AM   #1

School me about alignment pls

Haven't driven my car in about 2 months, and now it veers slightly to the left. I haven't driven my car in a few months, and don't remember it doing that before so its a little strange.

It also need new tires so its a good time to get alignment done.

This car is a toy. I drive on the street roughly about 2000 - 3000 miles a year to Starbucks and the occasional back road, scenic drive. The rest of the driving this year is going to be spent at AX and track events ( I'm a newbie to both ).

I'm putting on new Nitto NT05 ( 275/30/19 in the back and 245/35/19 in the front ) with stock suspension.

What is the best alignment setting for me ? Should I ask for anything special when getting my alignment ?

I realize those are generic questions but I'm pretty clueless re: suspension.

Thanks!

vijen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:06 AM   #2

Can't offer much on alignment but I'd check the tire pressure first. Pulled mine out of it winter hibernation and one of the tires was about 8lbs lower then the rest causing the car to pull slightly to the right. Turns out there was a nail in the tire causing a very slow leak.
rdc8118 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 10:04 AM   #3

Actually that might make a lot of sense .. one of my tires did get a plug right before I put her away. Will double check that.

Still looking for some alignment advice though in case its not the leak issue.

Thanks!
Old 03-27-2012, 10:48 AM   #4
Certified Boxster Addict

If you're new to AX and track, then a standard alignment should suffice.

Once you get some experience and are comfortable driving faster/harder you'll need to get a "track" alignment with the maximum negative camber possible (typically around -1.25 degrees or so in the front).