Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2008, 04:41 PM   #1

Adding Litronics...

hello all,

total newbie to the whole Boxster modding scene but I have been doing research into the HID conversion kits. These however do not seem like a good idea due to 1) possible burn in lens and 2) the amount of glare they create. Does anyone have any experience with these that could sway me otherwise or a good HID kit they could recommend? The only other option is to add Litronics... but there doesn't seem to be that much info out there about how/possibility of doing this. I have a 2000 Boxster 2.7 and would appreciate any help...

thanks in advance

J

jwl21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 04:49 PM   #2

Adding Litronics only requires buying them and swapping the lights. I havent added the HID conversion, but many guys here have with no problems. The only lenses that get burned are the people who are just using one of the fake xenon type bulbs you see on ebay. They run too hot, and burn the lense. The conversion kits actually use a real balast and xenon bulb, which actually burns cooler than a stock halogen bulb.
Gemballa red face gauges ..(FOR SALE)

http://i28.tinypic.com/2zzlq29.jpg
986speedster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2008, 05:17 PM   #3

I swapped my hologens for the Litronics a year ago. No problems to date.

The Litronics will not adjust up/down when driving, but will move up 5 degrees when you switch to high beams.

It is not plug & play. You have to do some wiring, but it's very simple.

Suncoast Porsche had the best price for the lights.

http://e-partssales.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?

Here's the web site with installation instructions.

http://www.realtime.net/~rentner/Porsche/Litronics/InstallingLights_Starting.html

Good Luck.
Old 03-18-2008, 05:26 PM   #4