Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2008, 04:55 PM   #1

PST2 vs Durametric

Hello,

I'm new to the Boxster April 2008 (1997 Silver/Grey base car - NO OPTIONS - NONE!) and have a line on purchasing a PST2. I was wondering if the additional expense over a new Durametric - Enthusiast set is worth it. What can one do (to a 1997 Boxster) that the other can't? Anybody have any thoughts, ideas or experiences with either that you can share to help me make a choice?

Thanks

Fulcrum

Fulcrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:02 PM   #2

Hehehe... night and day brother. The Durametric is nice. You can read all sorts of information with it, but you can change very little. The PST2 though pretty much does everything. In fact, a lot of guys here would give their left nut for one. If you can get a PST2 for anywhere near the cost of the Durametric software, then there's really no choice - definitely get the PST2. Plus you'll make a LOT of new friends with the PST2 as other Porsche owners will want you to help them fix issues with their cars with it.
Kirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:43 AM   #3

How much does a used pst2 go for?

My philosophy re: buying tools pre-need is that it actually prevents ever needing them, and may be worth it just for the peace of mind. Your car is thinking, crap, this guys got the mother of all tools and will promptly fix me so I might as well keep going.