Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2019, 05:55 AM   #1

Maximum mileage 986/7 you'd consider

Hello, Newbie here in the market for an 03-08 986/7 S. This will be my first Porsche, I've been an Audi owner for almost 20 years. I'm from the Northeast so a fair number of cars available from CT, MA, NY, and NJ. My question, what is the maximum mileage 986/7 you'd consider? This will be a fun car, I estimate 3-4K miles/year. My plan would be to keep the car forever (the Missus has agreed to a Boxster purchase this time .... not sure I'll be able to convince her again!). Most of the cars in my area are being sold through used car dealers so they have no clue beyond the CarFax about the car's history. I will get a PPI. So all things considered equal, not knowing a good history on any car, at what mileage would you not even bother test driving it and spending the $$ on a PPI.

Thanks in advance!

pedalguyeric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 06:31 AM   #2
1998 Boxster Silver/Red

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedalguyeric View Post
Hello, Newbie here in the market for an 03-08 986/7 S. This will be my first Porsche, I've been an Audi owner for almost 20 years. I'm from the Northeast so a fair number of cars available from CT, MA, NY, and NJ. My question, what is the maximum mileage 986/7 you'd consider? This will be a fun car, I estimate 3-4K miles/year. My plan would be to keep the car forever (the Missus has agreed to a Boxster purchase this time .... not sure I'll be able to convince her again!). Most of the cars in my area are being sold through used car dealers so they have no clue beyond the CarFax about the car's history. I will get a PPI. So all things considered equal, not knowing a good history on any car, at what mileage would you not even bother test driving it and spending the $$ on a PPI.

Thanks in advance!