Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2017, 09:57 AM   #1

Newb looking for advice

Looking to Buy a boxster, probably an 03 or 04 manual, I've read lots of threads on IMS on other issues(BTW, great bunch of guys/gals here, very helpful and informative). As I look for a car I find a lot of higher mileage cars, relatively(60-100k) that the owners(even PCA ads) have remarked new clutch, but no mention of IMS. To me it would seem prudent to have the IMS done if your in there for the clutch. Maybe I read too much and am now a nervous-nelly!
Im also cross-shopping Z4, since I've been driving and working on BMWs for that last ~25 years. But I'd really like to buy a boxster, mostly based on the positive driving experiences expressed in this forum. Any thoughts/insight is most appreciated!

428gc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 04:24 PM   #2

If you've read lots of threads on IMS you've probably gotten a feel for the issue and the vastness of the range of opinions about it, ie to do, or not do, the IMS. It all depends on how risk averse you inherently are. Me? I've got an '01 S that I picked up with 19k miles (in 2006) and finally decided to put a clutch in (even though I was experiencing no slippage--turns out it was in fact getting VERY close to due) last September with 81k miles. "While they were there" I had them do the IMS.

I was reasonably comfortable letting it go until I got the clutch done. As an '01, I don't know if I've got a double or single row bearing, but the car had plenty of miles on her (seems the IMS problems often, though not always, happen in low mileage cars). And I run her pretty hard, which evidence seems to indicate lowers the risk of IMS bearing failure. So, I was okay with waiting on it. Doing the clutch and not doing the IMS? That, on the other hand, just seems kind of silly...