Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster Racing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2016, 05:47 AM   #1

How to achieve decent camber?

I'm new to these cars so wondering.
Should I go with:
1. camber plates in the front and adjustable control arms in the rear?
2. camber plates only front and rear (is this possible?).
3. camber plates front, and adjustable control arms both ends?

the goal is to be able to set the car up properly for track driving and achieve even tire wear and temps.

2011 Mistubishi i-MiEV
Norway
Bebbetufs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:03 AM   #2

The pss9s you just bought include front camber plates. If you are allowed to use them for what ever class racing you are doing, they should allow extra adjustment up front.
The rear has considerable camber adjustment available but with lowering the rear toes out beyond what is adjustable. You will need aftermarket adjustable rear toe rods at the least.
johnsjmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:23 AM   #3

This page here has your camber plates, and there is a link with installation and usage instructions at the bottom on how to use them:

Front Camber Plate Set, 996/997/986

It has two different positions - stock, and additional camber. Most likely they are setup for additional camber, and the instructions show how to check.

Steve
steved0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 06:41 AM   #4

Great info. Thank you.

So no need for the hyper expencive gt3 LCAs then. Should I get two pair of monoballs for front and rear?

Are the rear links too long or too short for proper alignment?
2011 Mistubishi i-MiEV
Norway
Old 05-04-2016, 08:19 AM   #5
Racer Boy

The rear toe links are too short.
Racer Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 08:43 AM   #6

Thanks for confirming my suspsions.
2011 Mistubishi i-MiEV
Norway
Old 05-08-2016, 03:17 AM   #7
edc
550 Anniversary