Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2006, 02:23 AM   #1

What's My 0-60 Time??

I've got a stock 2002 Boxster (217 HP).
I'm a damn good driver
I've read a host of 0-60 times documeneted on this car:
Porsche Manual says 6.6 seconds (worst)
Car and Driver, EVO, and other mags go from 6.2 sec. to 6.6
Any opinions out there as to what the real number is?
I've done some subjective tests based on runs I've made, comparing to my other car, a Merc C32 AMG, which gets about 5.2 sec. 0-60 time
I'm thinking 6.3 sec. is about right.

YellowPorscheMan2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 03:17 AM   #2
bmussatti

What tranny do you have...Tip or manual?
Old 12-23-2006, 05:09 AM   #3

Thumbs up

5 speed manual tranny
Old 12-23-2006, 05:41 AM   #4
bmussatti

OK, then...6.55 at best.
Old 12-23-2006, 06:31 AM   #5

Why do magazines report faster times?
Old 12-23-2006, 06:32 AM   #6

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowPorscheMan2002

Well, there is that advertising thing!

Brucelee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 06:58 AM   #7

There's also the fact that magazines sometimes get "specially prepared" cars, and since they don't own them, are much more likely to abuse the car to get that extra tenth or two.
JackG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 07:09 AM   #8

This is Automobile magazine's approach, which you may find interesting reading:

Road Test Data - Automobile Magazine

TESTING PROCEDURES AND PHILOSOPHY

Equipment: VBOX II GPS-based system manufactured by Racelogic, Buckingham, England. (You can verify our results by buying your own at www.racelogic.co.uk for $11,800.) A Doppler shift applied to radio signals received from the US Department of Defense Global Positioning System satellites yields velocity, position, and other information which is recorded for analysis.