Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2023, 10:30 PM   #1

Used 986 Engine 100,000 Miles

I am on the verge of visiting a Boxster 986.1 in reputedly great shape. It's engine, however, at about 75,000 miles, was removed and sold (for reasons that aren't relevant, I think, to my question). To replace it, the owner (who is a highly regarded Porsche expert and technician) has ordered a 100,000 mile used engine. Since I am a a novice Porsche guy, I don't know what questions I should be asking. Y'all have any advice for me?

craigkeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2023, 05:34 AM   #2

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigkeen View Post
... the owner (who is a highly regarded Porsche expert and technician) has ordered a 100,000 mile used engine...
If the owner is worth his reputation he will make sure that the cam chain tensioner pads are changed and that the IMS bearing is at least verified or changed while the engine is out. Also the cylinders should be verified for bore scoring and a leak-down test done. Water pump and AOS should be checked/changed. What is the condition of the clutch? Easy to check before the engine is installed.

While there is no engine in the car it good time to change the coolant tank in the trunk if it has not already been done. The CV joints on the half-shafts and their rubber boots same thing.

These are all things that are relatively easy to do with the engine on an engine stand but difficult when the engine is in the car. If the opportunity to do these maintenance items is taken, then the car could be a safer bet than a lower mileage example that has not been check over.
1987 924S 5-speed (Sold) - Blue 2000 Boxster 5 spd (Sold)
elgyqc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2023, 06:28 AM   #3
Motorist & Coffee Drinker

Garage