Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2006, 07:57 PM   #1

Halogen vs Xenons

People on here with halogens, do you regret not getting xenons or are you happy with the halogen's performance? Xenon=Litronic? Sorry, newbie here. Is it possible to retrofit? If so, how much? Thanks much!

red_wagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 04:02 AM   #2

Happy with halogens here. Never really understood the xenons hoopla. Seems to me most people get them for looks but I fail to see what they really do for the car esthetically. In terms of safety, they (especially if they are even slightly misadjusted) seem to blind oncoming traffic much more than halogens. Beats me how that helps safety for everyone. Just IMHO.
Z.
Old 09-17-2006, 04:53 AM   #3

Z, if you have an 06', the halogens are far better than that of the 986. Yours, if I am correct, are projector beam halogens. Older 986s have standard halogen sealed beam lamps. These are not as good performance wise as the new halogens. I would have regretted buying a non-xenon Box. I think porsches xenons are one of the better lighting setups out there. They are definately a crisp white and fill out the driving field nicely. Also if you are facing an oncomming car, the center of your beam is the brightest part and wont blind traffic but still illuminate the sides of the road. I live in an area with alot of deer. More than a few times, I was able to spot those eyes on the edge of the trees much sooner than I used to due to the lights.