Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2017, 09:42 PM   #1

Is a '98 a bad thing?

I am looking at purchasing a '98 Boxster with a 5 speed manual. The car has had the IMS bearing replaced with ceramic about 10,000 miles ago. It was damaged in front but only damage to the nose and the front trunk (truck hitch backed into it). The repair work appears to be excellent. Car is on a clean title and appears in solid condition during my first test drive. I am a complete newbie but have read a lot about the IMS/RMS/slip sleeve issues with 986's but really like the car. Had someone that knows Porsches well say to NEVER consider a 98 as the engines are trash. My question is, since the IMS/clutch were done recently and the engine has made it 110k, does that not mean the issues that troubled the early 986's were either already fixed (no records that far) or that it has a better than average chance of not being impacted by the issues that caused early engine failures? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

EJFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 09:49 PM   #2