Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2016, 01:50 PM   #1

??? Before I buy

I'm looking at 98-2002 Boxsters and found one with 129k miles with a rebuilt 5 speed and IMS upgrade. Im worried the car was driven hard causing tranny failure. Does that sound odd? Is that too many miles for these cars? My main question or concern is my road. It's dirt with rocks and bumps. Not very long but it's very beat up most of the year for about two blocks. Can it go over 5" rocks and holes or will it get destroyed? I have neighbors with Nissans and Honda's that do OK but it's ruff bedrock. I'm an expert off road driver with a rear engine car and can negotiate terrain but I've been away from sports cars for decades. Thanks for any advise!

Stumpalump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 02:27 PM   #2

Porsche strong! can go over rocks and holes no problem. sporty, sticky tires may not hold so great, but the rest of the car should be fine. not sure what caused the transmission failure, but at least its all rebuilt which i think could be better than an old transmission in unknown condition. my boxster has 185k and I wind it out quite often.
Old 09-01-2016, 02:33 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stumpalump View Post
It's very beat up most of the year for about two blocks. Can it go over 5" rocks and holes or will it get destroyed
I think if I had 5" rocks I'd look for something else

Last edited by MARTHA; 09-08-2016 at 12:28 PM.
MARTHA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 03:25 PM   #4
There Is No Substitute.

Garage
The 986 has about 4" of ground clearance, and stiff suspension. I don't think you will enjoy driving any sports car on that type of road.
Old 09-01-2016, 03:28 PM   #5

Do you have enough in your budget that you can pick up an old D5 and fix the road before you get the Boxster?
Old 09-01-2016, 05:13 PM   #6